Flaws

I stood still as the mirror showed my face,
awkward, crooked and different, but the same.
I squinted, moving closer just to see
the problems that are hiding just beneath.

My breath fogged up the glass and misted eyes
with rivers flowing slowly down the stream.
I saw the jagged pieces jutting out,
uneven crevices and damaged parts.

I counted all the cracks and scars that burned
my eyes as they moved up and down the slate.
A white porcelain marred by thick, black streaks,
beauty only half-way, and skin deep.

Leave a Reply

