Wretches, hiccups and tumbling tears

How are people able to transform such complex, difficult moments into words? How can such simple words and alphabets represent the huge emotions? the heaving of a painful chest? a breaking heart?

You watched as my tears tumbled down time and time again, my emotions go haywire.

You watched with your large glassy eyes, your innocent, all innocence and instinct.

You shake and shiver in the cold, you gnaw and bite and scratch and squeak.

Yet you express so much more than I do.

I hide behind all those masks and those facades.

You are worth so much more than me, in soul and in all.

The inevitable “tick” comes, and I’ll be waiting in fear till the “tock” comes knocking and takes you away.

You are so much more than I’ll ever be.

 

Leave a Reply

